Welcome Visitor: Login

Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka Institute of Packaging (Executive Member)

290, D. R. Wijewardena Mawatha,
Colombo 10 , SRI LANKA
Tel: +94-1-445041
Fax + 94-1-445043
Email: slip@sltner.lk
Website: www.lankapackaging.com

Contact Person:
Mr. Dharmatilake Ratnayake - Chairman Packaging Development Centre & Chairman International Affairs Committee
Office: +94-11-2912278
SLIP: +94-11-4734351
Mobile: +94-712498404
Fax: +94-11-2912648 / +94-11-2856164
Email: dhasura@sltnet.lk / slip@sltnet.lk / cpp@sltnet.lk

Organizational Structure:

President - Mr. Dudley Thambinayagam

Deputy President - Mr. J.D.C. Perera

Vice Presidents – Mr. Dasamanya K Rohan B, Mr. Rohan Victoria, Mr. Thusith Wijesinghe, Mr. Anuradha Jayasinghe, Mr. J.D.Cyril,

Immediate Past President – Mr. A.K.Ratnarajah

Chairman Packaging Development Centre & Chairman International Affairs Committee(APF/WPO)- Mr. Dharmatilake Ratnayake

General Secretary - Mr. Nishan Perera,

Treasurer - Mr. Hemantha Tennakoon

Asst. Treasurer - Mr. Upul Abeywardene

Secretary Social - Mr. Lakshan Pethiyagoda

Secretary Publicity - Mr. Upul Ginige

Secretary Marketing – Mr. Sohan Perera


The Sri Lanka Institute of Packaging was inaugurated in 1975 with Mr. Stanley Wickremaratne, the past Managing Director of Ms. Aitken Spence Printing Limited, as the founder President.(1975 to 1978)

The post of the President of the Institute was held by the following personnel subsequent to the founder President relinquishing his post in 1978.

Mr. Abid Moosajee (1978 to 1981) Managing Director, Moosajee Sons Ltd.
Mr. Chulika De Silva (1981 to 1984) Former General Manager of Reckitt & Collman Cey Ltd., and Managing Director of Aitken Spence Pvt Ltd.

Mr. Razik Zarook (1984 to 1991) Hon. Member-APF, President's Counsel, Former Chairman of CWE and the National Aquatic Resources Research and Development Agency, and former Ambassador of Sri Lanka in the Republic of Hungary

Mr. Stanley Wickremaratne (1991 to 1992) Hon. Member-APF Founder President, re-elected

Mr. Mansoor Ghouse (1992 to 1994) Managing Director of Lanka Nippon Trading Co.,

Mr. Michael Perera (1994 to 1996) General Manager of CMC Engineering Exports GmbH,

Mr. Ananda Munasinghe (1996 to 1998) Former Director / General Manager of Acme Printing & Packaging Pvt. Ltd. And JDC Graphics Ltd.,

Mr. Vasantha Wijemanne (1998 to 2000) Former Director, Singer Industries Ltd.,

Mr. Dharmatilake Ratnayake (2000 to 2006) Hon.Member-APF, Director/General Manager-Printing & Packaging of EDNA group, former Factory Manager / Technical Manager of Acme Printing & Packaging Pvt. Ltd and former Deputy General manager of CMC Engineering Exports GmbH.

Mr. Lal De Alwis (2006 to 2008) Managing Director, Chemanex Ltd.

Mr. Ak.Ratnarajah (2008 todate ) Managing Director, Ceylon Tapes Ltd.

In 1983, during Mr. Chulika De silva's Presidency, the National Packaging Centre was formed as a joint venture between the Sri Lanka Export Development Board and the Sri Lanka Institute of Packaging with four members of the Packaging Institute serving on its board.

It was during Mr. Chulika de Silva's Presidency that the first ever Packaging Exhibition - Lankapak '81 was organized in 1981 by the Sri Lanka Institute of Packaging in Colombo. This Packaging Exhibition has now become a very popular feature and a total of 13 such exhibitions have been held from 1981 to 2008.

Mr. Razik Zarook who was elected as the President in 1984 held this post for 7 long years until he had to leave the Island in 1991 to take up the post of Sri Lanka's Ambassador to Yugoslavia.

During Mr. Razik Zarook's tenure of Presidency the first ever Asian Packaging Federation Congress was held in 1987 in Colombo with a large number of participants from Sri Lanka and other Asian countries. In conjunction with this Congress a highly successful international packaging exhibition, Expopak '87 was held.

The first ever Packaging Contest for excellence in packaging- Lanka Star Awards Contest was held in 1987 in conjunction with the APF Congress and Expopak '87.

Since 1987, the Sri Lanka Institute of Packaging has been holding Lanka Star contests biennially A fair number of Lanka Star winners have won Asia Star Awards at the annual Asia Star contest organized by the Asian Packaging Federation. Some of these Sri Lankan, Asia Star award winners have received the distinction in winning the prestigious World Star Awards at World Star contests held annually by the World Packaging Organization . Around 8 years back, the Lanka Star contest was made an annual feature.

Mr. Stanley Wickremeratne, was elected as the President of the Asian packaging Federation in 1989. Mr. Wickramaratne held this post for two years and during this period he was also elected as the vice President of the World Packaging Organization.

The Asian Packaging Federation Secretariat was shifted to Sri Lanka from Thailand with the present Chairman of the Packaging Development Centre, Mr. Dharmatilake Ratnayake serving as the Secretary General of the Federation. Mr. Ratnayake was elected to this post in 1990 and held the post for two consecutive years.

Mr. Stanley Wickramaratne and Mr. Dharmatilake Ratnayake, were awarded the Honorary memberships of the Asian Packaging Federation at a ceremony held in Jakarta Indonesia in 1994 in recognition of their services to the packaging community in the Asian Region. Mr Dharmatilake Ratnayake was elected as the Second Vice President of the APF in 2001 and was elected as the President of this prestigious organization at the Board of Administration held on 6th November 2002 at Kuala Lumpur Malaysia.

During Mr. Mansoor Ghouse's Presidency of the SLIP, the Institute hosted a World Packaging Congress in Colombo in 1992 with a large number of participants from different parts of the world. In conjunction with this WPO Congress, Worldpak '92 International Packaging Exhibition and World Star '92 packaging contests were also held in Colombo.

The Sri Lanka Institute of Packaging hosted an Asian Packaging Congress for the second time in 1996 when Mr. Ananda Munasinghe was the President of the Institute. In conjunction with the Congress, the biennial packaging exhibition-Packprint Lanka '96 was organized by the Institute with the assistance of the National Packaging Centre.

The Sri Lanka Institute of Packaging was registered under the Company's Act in 1999 during Mr. Vasantha Wijemanna's Presidency.

In the year 2000, Mr. Dharmatilake Ratnayake was elected as its President and continued up to 2006.
The Institute celebrated its Silver Jubilee in year 2000 under the leadership of Mr Ratnayake

Mr. Ratnayake was elected President of the APF in 2002 for a period of 2 years.(2003 & 2004) However, the APF amended its statutes to allow Mr. Ratnayake to continue as its President for an additional year. He stepped down as the APF President in December 2005 serving the APF for 3 consecutive years. He was one of the vice Presidents at the WPO and was an active member of the WPO Education Committee.
Mr. Ratnayake took the initiative to launch the World Student Star Contest in 2004 for the first time. and the Lanka Star Student category contest in year 2001.

Sri Lanka hosted the APF Congress for the third time in year 2003 when Mr. Ratnayake was its President.

Mr. Gamini Marambe was elected as the Treasurer of the APF in 2003 and continued up to end 2006.

On a suggestion made by Mr.Dharmatilake Ratnayake the the Sri Lanka Institute of Packaging backed by the local Packaging Industry formed the Packaging Development Centre as its ‘Technical arm' in year 2007. Mr. Ratnayake was made the first Chairman of this Centre.

The Statutes of the Sri Lanka Institute of Packaging were amended in 2008 to make the Chairman of the Packaging Development Centre a member of its Council of Management.

There are 149 Co-operate Members and 15 Life Co-operate Members in the Sri Lanka Institute of Packaging to date.